The 2016 California Building Standards Code (Code) was developed through the outstanding collaborative efforts of the Department of Housing and Community Development, Division of State Architect, Office of the State Fire Marshal, Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development, California Energy Commission, California Department of Public Health, California State Lands Commission, Board of State and Community Corrections, and the California Building Standards Commission (Commission).

This collaborative effort included the assistance of the Commission’s Code Advisory Committees and many other volunteers who worked tirelessly to assist the Commission in the production of this Code.

Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr.

Members of the California Building Standards Commission

Secretary Marybel Batjer – Chair

Steven Winkel – Vice-Chair

Raj PatelD. Malcolm Carson
Elley KlausbrucknerCheryl Roberts
Larry BoothErick Mikiten
James BarthmanKent Sasaki

Peter Santillan

Jim McGowan – Executive Director

Michael L. Nearman – Deputy Executive Director

For questions on California state agency amendments, please refer to the contact list on page iv.