Accredited Standards Committee A117 on Architectural Features and
Site Design of Public Buildings and Residential Structures for
Persons with Disabilities

At the time of ANSI approval, the A117.1 Committee consisted of the following members:


Chair Kenneth M. Schoonover, PE
Vice Chair Edward A. Donoghue, CPCA
A117 Committee Secretary Lawrence Brown, CBO
Organizational Member Representative
Accessibility Equipment Manufacturers Association (AEMA) (PD)
Kevin Brinkman
Gregory L. Harmon (Alt)
American Bankers Association (ABA) (BO) Nessa Feddis
American Council of the Blind (ACB) (CU) Patricia Beattie Krista Merritt (Alt)
American Hotel and Lodging Association (AHLA) (BO)
Kevin Maher
Jerry Gross (Alt)
American Institute of Architects (AIA) (P) Mark W. Wales, Associate AIA, CBO Larry M. Schneider (Alt)
American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) (P) S. Shoshana Shamberg
American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) (P) Samantha McAskill, ASID
Barbara J. Huelat, ASID, IIDA (Alt)
 American Society of Plumbing Engineers (ASPE) (P)  Robert H. Evans, Jr., CIPE/CPD
Julius A. Ballanco, P.E. (Alt)
 American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) (P)  Dr. William Marletta, PhD, CSP
John B. Schroering, P.E., C.S.P. (Alt)
American Society of Theatre Consultants (ASTC) (P)
William Conner, ASTC
R. Duane Wilson, ASTC (Alt)
Association for Education & Rehabilitation of the Blind & Visually Impaired (AERBVI) (P)
Billie Louise “Beezy” Bentzen, PhD
Builders Hardware Manufacturers Association, Inc (BHMA) (PD)

Michael Tierney
Richard Hudnut (Alt)
Building Owners and Managers Association International (BOMA) (BO)
Lawrence G. Perry, AIA
Ron Burton (Alt)
Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund (DREDF) (CU)
Marilyn Golden
Logan Hopper (Alt)
International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions (IAAPA) (BO) John Paul Scott, AIA, NCARB
International Code Council (ICC) (R) Kimberly Paarlberg, AIA 
Phil Hahn, AIA (Alt)
International Sign Association (ISA) (PD) Teresa Cox
James L. Chapman (Alt)
Muhammad Kahn (2nd Alt)
Little People of America, Inc. (LPA) (CU) Tricia Mason
C. Angela Van Etten, J.D.
Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services (MCDPS) (R)
Shahriar Amiri, CBO
Thomas Heiderer (Alt)
National Apartment Association (NAA) (BO) Ronald G. Nickson
National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) (BO)
Jeffrey T. Inks
Richard A. Morris (Alt)
 National Association of the Deaf (NAD) (CU) Don Sievers
Nancy J. Bloch (Alt)
National Conference of States on Building Codes and Standards (NCSBCS) (R) Curt Wiehle
National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) (PD)
Rein Haus
Scott Edwards (Alt)
James Shuster (2nd Alt)
National Elevator Industry, Inc (NEII) (PD) Edward A. Donoghue, CPCA )
George A. Kappenhagen (Alt
Barry Blackaby (2nd Alt)
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) (R) Allan B. Fraser
Ron Coté, PE (Alt)
New Mexico Governor’s Committee on Concerns of the Handicapped (NMGCCH) (CU) Hope Reed
Anthony H. Alarid (Alt)
Paralyzed Veterans of America (PVA) (CU) Carol Peredo Lopez, AIA
Mark H. Lichter, AIA (Alt)
Plumbing Manufacturers Institute (PMI) (PD) David Viola
Barbara C. Higgens (Alt)
Self Help for Hard of Hearing People, Inc. (SHHH) (CU)
Brenda Battat
Timothy P. Creagan (Alt)
Society for Environmental Graphic Design (SEGD) (P)
Kenneth A. Ethridge, Jr., AIA, RIBA
Ann Makowski (Alt)
Stairway Manufacturers Association (SMA) (PD) Tim Moss
David Cooper (Alt)
U.S. Architectural & Transportation Barriers Compliance (Access) Board (ATBCB) (R)
Marsha K. Mazz
Scott J. Windley (Alt)
U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) (R) Larry B. Fleming 
Samuel Hodges, III (Alt)
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) (R)
Cheryl D. Kent
Louis F. Borray (Alt)
United Cerebral Palsy Association, Inc. (UCPA) (CU)  Robert Dale Lynch, FAIA
Gus Estrella (Alt)
United Spinal Association (CU) Brian D. Black
Dominic Marinelli (Alt)
World Institute on Disability (WID) (CU) Hale Zukas 
Individual Members

Todd Andersen (P)
George P. McAllister, Jr. (P)

Jake L. Pauls, CPE (P)
John P. S. Salmen, AIA (P) 
Kenneth M. Schoonover, PE (P)


The updating of this standard over the past 5 years could only be accomplished by the hard work of not only the current committee members listed at the time of approval but also the many committee members who participated and contributed to the process over the course of development. ICC recognizes their contributions as well as those of the participants who, although not on the committee, provided valuable input during this update cycle.